Ice cream, digging, pie.

Oh gosh one of my favorite things is to mash bananas into sticky rich chocolate ice cream. And OH MAN looking at the top photo in this is making me salivate. WANT! BANANAS! MASHED! INTO! STICKY CHEWY CHOCOLATE ICE CREAM FROM SWENSEN’S! I don’t live up the hill from Swensen’s any more. <sadface>. I’m going to have to make that ice cream! Crap! It- you just mix it and freeze it – WHY HAVEN’T THEY THOUGHT OF THIS BEFORE!? IT MAKES ALL THE SENSE!! I WANT TO MAKE ALL KINDS OF VARIATIONS! THIS IS THE NEXT STEP IN ICE CREAMERY!

Listen to this. It is Ball And Biscuit by The White Stripes. SO BOSS:

As I wait for the state to process my license, I’ve been driving out to the coast most weekends to do yard work at my parent’s house, which has been mostly digging-related activities. There’s just nothing like showering and eating dinner and then relaxing after a day of outdoor labor in the dirt when the rest of the week you’re mostly inside at a computer, because that’s really what I do all week. Having not started my job. Because the state is processing my license. It’s taking them a full eight weeks. Hey thanks, state! Thanks.

So digging has been going great! My parents are relandscaping the yard after years of it being kind of spottily barren. They got all kinds of pretty drought tolerant plants and they’re also going to let me put in a little vegetable garden. They’re camping this weekend so today I finished up with the tasks I know about (shaking dirt out of sod clumps so the garbage guys don’t hate us, smoothing out dirt over the fixed drainage system) so tomorrow I’m going to put in some of the garden, maybe buy some tomato plants and strawberry plants, and more seeds. I want to try to get seeds for plants that will produce good seeds. My understanding is that this means heirloom seeds. I need to research this.

I have some seeds saved from my last garden in San Francisco. It was also my first garden, and it was so much fun! My gardening style is definitely to smell those roses and enjoy every transformation, and to put love into moving the dirt around and helping the plants grow and then harvesting and then collecting seeds. And being sad if something dies, but no matter! So it goes! Lesson learned! I learned, by the way, that arugula is the hardiest fancy thing to plant. It’s nuts! The stuff is so so tasty and grows like a weed, and then it goes to seed and the seeds are ridiculously easy to collect and sow again. I have to thank my garden partner and old roommate for pointing out the seed collection possibility. It’s all I care about now! My garden was so weak that I would just let everything go to seed, and I got my gardener’s satisfaction from gathering the seeds!

So I have this collection from all over, from fruits and vegetables I’ve eaten, plants I’ve passed, etc., and who knows if anything will grow true. But I really enjoy the experiment!

Well it’s evening now and I am worn. out. Even with just, really, a few hours of work. Now I’m sipping my wine and patting that black dog when she comes to bother me and put her head on my lap. Aw, dog! I love you too. Time to make pie!

Love, Genna

Leave a Reply

